Kruse Elected to AAI Board’s Executive Committee

Shelly Kruse, Growmak, Inc., begins New Position on AAI Board of Directors October 1

During the 2019 fall AAI board meeting in Ankeny, Shelly Kruse was elected to serve on the Executive Committee as Board Secretary. Kruse currently works for Growmark as the VP of Midwest Retail. She has worked with Growmark since 2008. Kruse graduated from Northern Illinois University and Lewis University. Kruse originally joined the board in 2018 after being elected to the role of District 1 Director, which she will continue to serve as for our NE Iowa members.

Board Passes Gavel, Welcomes New Board Members

The AAI Board of Directors met on Friday, September 13, 2019, at the Iowa FFA Enrichment Center in Ankeny. This critical annual Board of Directors meeting included presentations by Josh Remington, Executive Director of Iowa FFA, and Rob Denson, President of Des Moines Area Community College. In addition to the regular business and valuable committee reports presented at this meeting, including approval of the 2020 Fiscal Year Budget and Executive Committee / Officer Elections.

The Board welcomed newly elected board members:

  • Terry Hurshman, VP of Feed Ingredients, Eldon C. Stutsman, Inc.
  • Eric Thuente, Audit/CPA, BergenKDV
  • Al Muhlenbruck, Relations and Regulatory Manager, Tri Oak Foods
  • Kent Bennis, Market Development Specialist, Corteva Agriscience
The membership re-elected Bennis as the District 3 Director, following his appointment last year. The Board also recognized Mark Morrissey, United Services Association, and Mike Moellenbeck, River Valley Cooperative, for their service as Chair in FY 2018 and FY 2019 respectively.

New FY 2020 Board positions as of October 1:

  • Chair – Steve Meyerholz, KDK Sales & Equipment
  • Chair-Elect – Matt Caswell, AGP
  • Secretary – Shelly Kruse, Growmark,
Elected by peers, Kruse joins as the newest member of the AAI Executive Committee. In addition to Meyerholz, Caswell, and Kruse, other members of the Executive Committee include Kevin Drury, Hedlin Ag, elected as Treasurer, and José Laracuente, Ag Vision, representing the AAI Foundation. Mike Moellenbeck will fill the Past- Chair position on the Executive Committee and Board of Directors.