AAI Foundation Among First Contributors to Mark Pearson FFA Leadership Scholarship


AAI Foundation CEO Joel Brinkmeyer stands with Iowa Governor Terry Branstad and DMACC President Rob Denson after the scholarship announcement at the capitol building on Thursday, April 21.

The AAI Foundation along with a dozen other organizations and individuals provided the initial donations to start the Mark Pearson FFA Leadership Scholarship.

FFA Chapter Presidents in Iowa who will be attending DMACC are eligible to receive the funds which would pay for their first two years of school. Recipients can choose any of DMACC’s 160+ majors and attend any of the DMACC campuses in Iowa.

Iowa Governor Terry Branstad announced this new statewide scholarship for Iowa FFA Presidents on Thursday, April 21, 2016, at the capitol building in the Governor’s formal office. The first two recipients accepted into this new scholarship program were also part of the announcement.


Chloe McCollough, FFA Chapter President


Kassidy Kulmann – FFA Chapter President

The namesake of the scholarship is the late veteran farm broadcaster Mark Pearson, who passed away in 2012. Pearson, 54, had been host of Iowa Public Television’s popular ‘Market to Market’ show and co-hosted WHO-AM radio’s The Big Show, which also focused on agricultural news. He was known as a founder of the annual Great Iowa Tractor Ride.

“I remember Mark as a promoter, motivator, and a friend to everyone in agriculture,” said Agribusiness Association of Iowa Foundation CEO Joel Brinkmeyer. “I think this is a tremendous way to honor his legacy and his family.”

The AAI Foundation will be making a $30,000 donation to the fund over the next three years. Other donors include: Dennis Albaugh, WHO Radio, Iowa Farm Bureau Foundation, Iowa Association of Bureau and Industry, and Mary J. Duote.


To read more about the scholarship or to donate please visit www.dmacc.edu/pearsonscholar or contact Craig McEnany at [email protected].